AC: Unity

I pre-ordered Assassin’s Creed:Unity back when it came out towards the end of 2014. This was also the last time I looked forward to the release of a AC game. That particularly has a lot to do with the terrible release of bug filled AC game. At the time, I was getting back into PC gaming, so I ordered the game for PC, which turned out to be incredibly worse than the console versions. The worse part of it was that my PC wasn’t powerful enough to run the game, with the addition of hellish bugs that betrayed the game. So, I built a better, expensive PC to play the game… which even AFTER building a computer that was beyond the recommended specs, still had way too many issues to enjoy playing the game. This was the era of the troubled Ubisoft game releases, and extremely pissed off gamers. It was so bad that Ubisoft ran a forum/support site for the game, and it was filled with pretty much nothing but rightfully angry gamers. The terrible release of Unity and the broken trust with Ubisoft really killed my love for the series.

In case you don’t recall this dark, dark time… here is the infamous broken face character bug. It was one of a kind. I mean, look at that smoking hot gum line.

2732762-unitybug

So you know what happens when the internet gets hold of something like this… You get memes!

1f3f6d

And there were plenty of other bugs such as this NPC folding upon herself. I can’t say I’ve ever seen anybody with that kind of flexibility. Maybe she works at the brothel??

xakwtaybx6sfc6lerc0q

Among these were the numerous bugs causing Arno to fall through the ground, roofs, etc. It was pretty much impossible to climb anywhere.

maxresdefault (1)

As I recall, the very first mission was plagued with Arno falling through the floor, and I’m pretty sure that’s where I left the game until it was patched. Although this reminiscence of how terrible the game was is bringing back terrible memories, this is no longer a representation of AC Unity.

It is now several years down the road, and I have finally completely the main story. It turns out I left off on the last main mission and wasn’t aware of it, cause I probably would have finished awhile back. What can I say about this game now? It’s actually an enjoyable game with hardly any glitches. That if it had been in the state it is now, when it was originally released, it would have been considered a success at the time.

The environment is large (understatement) and beautiful. I can’t say much about the story, because it was broken up into several spurs of game-play over the last 2.5 years. As I recall though, It was better story than previous installments, and I will likely replay the memories so I can enjoy the story in a shorter time frame. I still have the dead kings DLC to play, which was released for free by Ubisoft, to make up for their grand fuck up. I look forward to playing it though, as well as for all the multiplayer missions that are available. I played through one after finishing the campaign, and enjoyed the game-play. Needless to say, I feel that there is plenty of good memories that can come from this game still.

Leave a Reply

