Resident Evil 7 Biohazard: Not Bad?

I’ll start off by saying– I didn’t bother buying the game. I enjoy  horror game here and there, and I’ve enjoyed them greatly, but it’s only under unique circumstances I find myself able to really play a horror game. Something about being entirely immersed in an experience, without someone there with you to help laugh off the jumpscares and such, it makes horror genre games and movies hard to handle for me, and it’s been a long time since I’ve had friends over to play a single player game with me. As a kid, I played Resident Evil 0, Resident Evil 4, and the rail shooter title Resident Evil: Darkside Chronicles, so I may not be the most experienced Resident Evil player.

But I certainly will watch someone else play the game, and having followed multiple people’s playthroughs from beginning to end I have to say I was a little underwhelmed, but the game was still really good. It was very well written, though the story was rather off Resident Evil standard. The standard Resident Evil mechanics felt very out of place for  first person shooter, but it was a better choice to stay traditional than to abandon the Resident Evil trademarks. But I think my biggest qualm was not the mechanics or the story, or even the gameplay, but the artistic elements.

Mia is fucking frightening. And she’s not even meant to be frightening, she’s meant to be Ethan’s cute wife, that you really want to save. But something about the way they modeled their faces was really wrong and I wasn’t the only one to think that based on the reactions I saw on YouTube of people seeing Mia for the first time. Her skin is thick and plastic-y, her teeth look really out of place, her face moves really weird, her hair is lacking any form of realism, like they forgot what anti-aliasing and physics were in favor of having her hair be flowing and perfectly styled. And the same effects carried over to every other character. Even young Eveline is so poorly modeled she looks like a 40 year old face on a 13 year old’s body. And on the other characters, this is a positive– you’re meant to think they look weird and creepy, but for characters you’re supposed to like, looking like you’re real and not made of plastic is important.

It may be because I’m an art major, but it might also be because I have eyes and can tell what looks real and what looks fake, and if you release a game in the PS4 life cycle that looks like a PS3 game, people are going to notice.

Everything considered… I’d say Resident Evil 7 gets a 7 out of 10. A pretty good game, but suffering from some flaws.

Leave a Reply

